

COLORADO STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

201 East Colfax Avenue • Denver, Colorado 80203-1704 303.866.6817 • Fax: 303.866.6761 • www.cde.state.co.us

Bob Schaffer Chairman

4th Congressional District

Resolution Recognizing the Contribution Commissioner Dwight D. Jones has Made to Education Reform in Colorado

Randy DeHoff Vice-Chairman

6th Congressional District

WHEREAS: The State Board of Education unanimously selected

Elaine Gantz Berman
1st Congressional District

Dwight D. Jones as the Commissioner of Education in June 2007; and,

Jane Goff

WHEREAS: In the time since, the Commissioner of Education has

7th Congressional District

initiated actions that have helped place Colorado in the

Peggy Littleton
5th Congressional District

forefront of education reform; and,

Marcia Neal

WHEREAS: Through his *Forward Thinking* plan, the Commissioner

3rd Congressional District

established a renewed direction and purpose for the Colorado Department of Education, and in so doing helped the State Board of Education fulfill its strategic

goals; and,

Angelika Schroeder 2nd Congressional District

WHEREAS: The Colorado Legacy Foundation, an entity conceived in

Forward Thinking, was established and is leading efforts in the areas of educator effectiveness, health and wellness, Legacy Schools and Expanded Learning Opportunities;

and

WHEREAS: The Commissioner has successfully deployed what has

been an effective path of development and change within

the department and in the field; and,

WHEREAS: School and district leaders across the state now view the

Colorado Department of Education as a resource for

information and support; and,

WHEREAS: The Commissioner has set into motion initiatives that hold

tremendous promise for the transformation of education in

general and student achievement in particular; and,

WHEREAS: Under his leadership, the Colorado Growth Model and

SchoolView have radically changed the way Colorado –

and other states across the nation – look at student

achievement and growth; and,



WHEREAS: His insistence that accountability measures should be fair

and consistent led to the passing of Senate Bill 09-163;

and,

WHEREAS: Specifically, the Commissioner's drive to raise

expectations for students resulted in rigorous and newly adopted content standards for students and the attributes

for a new state assessment program; and,

WHEREAS: Under his tenure, the Colorado State Legislature for the

first time funded work to close the achievement gap; and,

WHEREAS: His support of such legislation as the Educator

Effectiveness Bill and the Educator Identifier Bill, while unpopular with some, helped to put into motion initiatives that will truly benefit children in the classroom; and,

WHEREAS: The Commissioner's dedication to fiscal accountability

has improved department practices and brought kudos from the USDE regarding federal compliance; and,

WHEREAS: His service on various commissions and boards, among

them the NCATE Blue Ribbon Panel on Teacher Preparation, Education Commission of the State's Steering Committee and the McREL Board of Directors,

is unparalleled; and,

WHEREAS: Through his participation in the Council of Chief State

School Officers and the national arena, the Commissioner has earned great respect from his colleagues in other

states, and,

WHEREAS: He is recognized by political, education and lay leaders

alike for his bold leadership to do whatever it takes for

students;

Now, therefore,

BE IT

RESOLVED: The Colorado State Board of Education formally

commends Dwight D. Jones for his outstanding service as Colorado Commissioner of Education, his tireless efforts

to increase academic achievement, and his championship for preparing all students for future success.

DATED THIS 6th DAY OF DECEMBER, 2010

Bob Schaffer, Chairman 4th Congressional District Randy DeHoff, Vice-Chairman 6th Congressional District

Jane E. Hogy

Romer Detteff

Elaine Gantz Berman 1st Congressional District Jane Goff 7th Congressional District

Peggy Littleton 5th Congressional District

ratellil suppor

Marcia Neal

4th Congressional District

Angelika Schroeder 2nd Congressional District