

COLORADO STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

201 East Colfax Avenue • Denver, Colorado 80203-1704 303.866.6817 • Fax: 303.866.6761 • www.cde.state.co.us

Resolution in Honor of the Victims of the Shootings at Sandy Hook Elementary School

WHEREAS: On December 14, 2012, an armed gunman opened fire at

Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut,

killing 20 first-grade students and six adults;

WHEREAS: The principal, the counselor, teachers and other staff at

Sandy Hook Elementary as well as the first responders engaged in incredible acts of heroism and selflessly sought

to aid and protect the children above their own safety;

WHEREAS: The staff in the building acted quickly and bravely to

prevent the additional loss of life, with Dawn Hochsprung Mary Sherlach, Vicki Soto, Lauren Rousseau, Rachel Davino, and Anne Marie Murphy sacrificing their lives to protect the children in their care, and the State Board

honors their memory and valor;

WHEREAS: The State Board also honors the memory of the children

who were killed: Jesse Lewis, Grace McDonnell, Charlotte

Bacon, Emilie Parker, Ana Marquez-Greene, James Mattioli, Benjamin Wheeler, Olivia Rose Engel, Chase Kowalski, Catherine Hubbard, Jack Pinto, Jessica Rekos, Avielle Richman, Daniel Barden, Dylan Hockley, Noah Pozner, Josephine Gay, Madeleine F. Hsu, Caroline

Previdi, and Allison N. Wyatt.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT

RESOLVED: By the Colorado State Board of Education that it

- (1) Condemns, in the strongest possible terms, the heinous atrocities that occurred at Sandy Hook Elementary;
- (2) Offers its heartfelt condolences to the families, friends, and loved ones of those who were killed in the attack as well as for the survivors;
- (3) Stands by the Sandy Hook community and honors the resilience of the people of Newtown and the State of Connecticut in the face of such adversity.

Bob Schaffer Chairman

4th Congressional District

Marcia Neal Vice-Chairman 3rd Congressional District

Elaine Gantz Berman
1st Congressional District

Jane Goff

7th Congressional District

Paul Lundeen

5th Congressional District

Debora Scheffel
6th Congressional District

Angelika Schroeder 2nd Congressional District



DATED THIS 18th DAY OF DECEMBER, 2012

Bob Schaffer, Chairman 4th Congressional District

Elai fat Burn Elaine Gantz Berman 1st Congressional District

Paul Lundeen 5th Congressional District

Angelika Schroeder 2nd Congressional District

Marcia Neal, Vice-Chairman 3rd Congressional District

Jane E. Hogy

Schon Z. Schiffer

Jane Goff 7th Congressional District

Debora Scheffel

6th Congressional District