

BE IT

COLORADO STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

201 East Colfax Avenue • Denver, Colorado 80203-1704 303.866.6817 • Fax: 303.866.6761 • www.cde.state.co.us

RESOLUTION IN OPPOSITION TO THE BALLOT INITIATIVE ON LOCAL PROPERTY TAX REVENUE

- WHEREAS: The State Board of Education is constitutionally charged with the general supervision of public education in Colorado; and
- WHEREAS: A ballot initiative to amend Article X, Section 20 ("Taxpayer Bill of Rights" or "TABOR") of the Colorado Constitution, which will appear on the general election ballot this November as Amendment 60, would cut in half all local property taxes used for a school district's general fund and provides no credible means to replace these lost revenues; and
- WHEREAS: The loss of 50% of a school district's local property tax revenues would devastate the public educations provided to this community; and
- WHEREAS: Past decisions by voters of a school district to override TABOR revenue restrictions would be repealed by Amendment 60; and
- WHEREAS: Any future voter-approved property tax for the school district's schools would expire within 10 years; and
- WHEREAS: Amendment 60 would defeat and reverse the decisions of local communities on how to raise and allocate local resources, including public education, and consequently, eliminate local control of local budgets, including those of local boards of education; and
- WHEREAS: Amendment 60 would reduce the local revenues available to local boards of education and severely impact the ability of school districts to effectively maintain an infrastructure to respond to the needs of educating Colorado's children; therefore,
- RESOLVED: The State Board of Education officially declares its opposition to Amendment 60.



Bob Schaffer Chairman 4th Congressional District

Randy DeHoff Vice-Chairman 6th Congressional District

Elaine Gantz Berman 1st Congressional District

Jane Goff 7th Congressional District

Peggy Littleton 5th Congressional District

Marcia Neal 3rd Congressional District

Angelika Schroeder 2nd Congressional District DATED THIS 16 DAY OF September, 2010

Bob Schaffer, Chairman 4th Congressional District

Randy Detter

Randy DeHoff, Vice-Chairman 6th Congressional District

Elai faz Bunn

Elaine Gantz Berman 1st Congressional District

Jane E. Hopp

Jane Goff 7th Congressional District

ratoffild Sysper

Peggy Littleton 5th Congressional District

arcia neal

Marcia Neal 4th Congressional District

Angelika Schroeder 2nd Congressional District